Poetry Links

12 Best Poetry sites for Kids:

https://turbofuture.com/internet/k12interactivepoetry

Writing Poetry Online:

Read, Write, Think: http://www.readwritethink.org/search/?resource_type=16&type=28

Acrostic Poem: http://www.readwritethink.org/classroom-resources/student-interactives/acrostic-poems-30045.html

Diamonte poem: http://www.readwritethink.org/files/resources/interactives/diamante/

Haiku: http://www.readwritethink.org/classroom-resources/student-interactives/haiku-poem-interactive-31074.html

Inpidual Poet’s sites:

Ogden Nash: http://www.ogdennash.org/ogden_nash_poems.htm

Ken Nesbitt: http://www.poetry4kids.com/

Jack Prelutsky (he is prolific and wonderful): http://jackprelutsky.com/http://jackprelutsky.com/welcome-to-my-new-website/

Dr. Seuss (bio – we have his books): http://www.poetryfoundation.org/bio/theodor-geisel

Shel Silverstein (funny!): http://www.shelsilverstein.com/

Robert Louis Stevenson (A Child’s Garden of Verses: see the entire 1895 virtual book on-line): http://www.robert-louis-stevenson.org/poetry/9-a-childrens-garden-of-verses

Janet Wong (she lives in WA and does school visits): http://www.janetwong.com/

Jane Yolen: http://janeyolen.com/poetry/

Search Engines:

ALA search for recommended poetry websites for children: http://gws.ala.org/search/node/poetry

Children’s Poetry Archive (site still in development – loads very slowly): http://childrenspoetryarchive.org/

Poetry Foundation (filtered for children) – choose a poem, read it, then click on link below the poem for author info: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/browse/#filter_good_for_children=1

Poetry Dictionary for Kids: http://www.poetry4kids.com/blog/lessons/poetry-dictionary-for-kids/#n

Poets.org (search poets and poetry – a great site. Enter poet’s name, get list of poems with complete text that can be easily printed, and biographical link at the bottom with photo): http://www.poets.org/poetsorg/browse-poems-poets

Teachingbooks (listen to an author read part of his/her poem, author interviews, grade level, lesson plans, other resources) – a good site to listen to when preparing students to present their own poems. Username: Edmonds, Password: welcome: http://www.teachingbooks.net/tb.cgi?go=1&searchbox_level=0.84&keyword_type1=subject&boolean=AND&keywords1=poetry

Fun Sites:

Poetry 4 kids (site has ads) – can rate poems: http://www.poetry4kids.com/classics

Giggle poetry (funny poems, teaching tips, rating opportunities, games) – site has ads: http://www.gigglepoetry.com/index.aspx

Storyblocks (songs, rhymes, fingerplays for very little kids, performed by adults on video): http://www.storyblocks.org/

Random Poetry Collections:

Children’s Poems (a site designed by a teacher, with favorite poems): https://sites.google.com/site/childrenspoems/paul-fleischman

Young Student poetry (kids can submit their own work):

Inkless Tales poetry page (students read and write your own and read other’s here): http://www.inklesstales.com/poems/index.html

Poetry Zone (UK): http://poetryzone.co.uk/

RIF Reading Planet (for younger kids to express themselves as writers): http://www.rif.org/kids/readingplanet.htm

Khan Academy

Recycle City

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.